Social Media, SEO
& Your Business

by Mitch Mitchell

Using Your Website
As A Marketing Tool

by Mitch Mitchell


Follow Me On Twitter;
Click The Bird!

Add me on Google Plus!

Embrace The Lead
by T. T. Mitchell


Free Download; right-click on book

Leadership Is/Isn't Easy
by T. T. Mitchell


Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Finale Review

Posted by on Jul 27, 2011

Almost two weeks after the movies opened in the United States, I’m finally ready to write my review. Okay, spoiler alert; I loved it so much I saw it twice!

You know, often you go into movies after you’re read the book knowing exactly what’s going to happen. Since they broke this book up into two movies and since the first book stayed so close to what happened in the book, I thought I would know what was coming in this one as well.

For the most part… I was wrong. Sure, some things followed the book fairly well, but one has to imagine that it must be difficult allowing the types of speeches and conversations that happened in a book that was almost 1,000 pages long to translate word for word into a movie would be, well, a headache. So, the movie takes many liberties in the movie and totally changes some things around to keep the action going; after all, they wanted the movie to be able to appeal to everyone and not just Harry Potter fans.

Even so, many of the action scenes took place differently than they do in the book, just like in the 6th book. That’s okay as well because I understand for spacing purposes you’d lose a lot if you expanded the field of battle as well. However, in the book the battle between Mrs. Weasley and Bellatrix LeStrange goes on much longer than it does here, and in the book Voldemort has a long battle with many wizards at once, which doesn’t happen here.

Harry’s entrance into the castle goes much different in the movie than in the book, and his encounter with Professor Snape in the movie never happened in the book. And some people might recognize that Malfoy has one friend different than the same two friends he had in the first six movies. That’s because the actor who played that part got arrested a couple of times for drugs and they had to replace him. Of course, one of the actors still in his role never quite developed physically into the behemoth he was supposed to be so his part always had to be written differently from the books.

And the kiss… yes, the kiss between Ron and Hermoine. Actually, this is why I had to go to the movie a second time because I missed it the first time. They moved it around in the movie and, because they didn’t have it when I expected it to come, I went to the bathroom; major mistake! Glad to see it the second time around and it made sense putting it where they did once I saw it again.

In general, this was enjoyable; then again, when I know it’s going to be something I like, I’m an easy grader. I saw it the first time at the midnight showing, 3D, and the second time a week and a half later in a regular theater, where the guy gave me the senior discount; maybe I shouldn’t shave before I go to any movies anymore. lol The theater was packed the second time as well, and almost everyone that reviewed this movie has said it’s fantastic, and it’s gotten a 96% positive review from Rotten Tomatoes; those folks usually hate everything. Even Roger Ebert gave it 3 1/2 out of 4 stars; when’s the last time that happened for a film that people actually saw?

I’ll be waiting until both movies come out together before buying this and, as long as it is, I hope the movies include way more footage. Yeah, I’m a glutton for punishment, but I really want to see more, just as I did with the Lord of the Rings trilogy when I purchased it. Great stuff. Don’t be a curmudgeon; go see this!

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2011 Mitch Mitchell
Share on Google+0Share on LinkedIn2Tweet about this on Twitter3Share on Facebook0

Tags: , , ,


I haven’t seen the movie, usually I wait until they come on HBO. I’ve also not read any of the books but my nephew and my older sister have read every single one. These days, I don’t have time to read for pleasure.

I have to say that J.K. Rowlings has a fabulous imagination. I would love to be able to come up with fascinating stories like Harry Potter. I’ve enjoyed every single one of the movies, talk about a lot of fun. Intrigue, adventure, mystery, just sitting on the edge of your seat at times.

Glad you gave this one a thumbs up. So maybe I just need to go see this one on the big screen. Now that’s a good idea.

Thanks Mitch, enjoyed this review. Great job and glad you enjoyed the movie.


July 27th, 2011 | 1:58 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Thanks Adrienne. You will definitely enjoy it, but one day you’ll just have to go back through the books, even if you do them in audio, which is how I’ve gone through them, to pick up all the nuances.

July 28th, 2011 | 3:13 PM

As I am living in 3rd world country, I guess every new movie is on TV a week after it is on cinema. Reading your other blog, changed my mind about Harry Potter movies and I started watching from the very beginning last weekend.

July 27th, 2011 | 8:01 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Glad you’re finally watching Carl; I hope you enjoy them. And it’s going to be on TV already? Well, the bootlegs might get the job done, but there’s nothing like seeing a movie crisp and clean, especially with great audio.

July 28th, 2011 | 3:14 PM

I’m going to watch it this weekend, and I’m so eager to watch it, since it’s going to be the last series of Harry Potter.

July 27th, 2011 | 11:25 PM
Cher Shives:

I would love to see Harry Potter but at the same time, I will be emotional because it is already the last chapter…SAD =(

July 28th, 2011 | 1:03 AM

I watched Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows and all I can say is that “IT IS THE BEST MOVIE OF THE YEAR!” It was worth it to watch.

July 28th, 2011 | 6:34 AM
Mitch Mitchell:

It was easily worth watching lol

July 28th, 2011 | 3:19 PM

Glad you enjoyed it! I dragged Ally with me to see it when she was out to visit me. As she hasn’t read the books, it was interesting to get her reaction to the film. Luckily, she had just seen Part 1 recently otherwise she thought she would have been lost and I’d have to agree. The movie really does just jump in right where it left off and that can be hard if the person watching had only seen Part 1 in the theaters eons ago.

That said, I have to approve of the changes. You’re right; the pacing for a film is so different from a novel and they made the right decisions in terms of scenes needed to tell a story where some come from having read the books and some don’t (a flaw in the 4th movie they never repeated thank goodness).

Rowling has always impressed me with the level of difficulty of her books as a reader grew with the series. I have to say that the movies progressed in much the same manner and I liked the symmetry of them in that instance.

All in all, it was a great conclusion to a series of movies that rarely made a misstep.

July 28th, 2011 | 12:25 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Thanks Krystal, and we totally agree on this one. Ally did write on Twitter that she thought it was “okay”. lol This is one of those movie franchises where, if they came out with all 8 movies at once and said they had expanded versions I’d have to buy that and dismiss all the other movies that I already own. Of course I’m already planning to go back and start the book series all over again at some point; what a mess I am! 😉

July 28th, 2011 | 3:30 PM

I’ve seen the movie though it was my first Harry Potter movie ever. I thought it was pretty good, the acting was decent and the story line was pretty simple, at least I understood everything without watching the previous movies, so that’s a plus, a movie for everyone.

July 28th, 2011 | 12:36 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Wow Cristian, you started at the end eh? I hope you go back and watch the entire series; you really pick up on all the history that way.

July 28th, 2011 | 3:32 PM

The franchise has finally come to an end and boy did it go out with a bang! Amazing movie! Don’t miss it. This is one movie you have to see in the theater. Absolutely incredible! Special effects are insane. Hope you all enjoy this film!

Have a good day,

July 28th, 2011 | 5:48 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Thanks for the boost Anita. It was fantastic; I almost want to go again, but I need to just stop. lol

July 28th, 2011 | 11:27 PM

I love harry Potter but I haven’t watch the finale movie yet…So sad…

August 1st, 2011 | 6:12 AM

Hi Mitch, I saw it and I loved it. I miss action in these two last parts but in general they are amazing! I go to buy all movies of Harry Potter in Blu-ray, I need them 🙂

August 1st, 2011 | 3:24 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Jose, this last one was almost all action; well, at least that’s how my mind sees it. 🙂

August 2nd, 2011 | 12:22 AM

And so..I’ve watched it. And I should say, I was quite disappointed with the 3D version. It didn’t give me a good feel about the 3D at all. Too bad. But overall, it was a nice movie. And the Albus Severus Potter, don’t you think that kid looks just like Justin Bieber? LOL!

August 1st, 2011 | 11:58 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

You know Andrew, I hadn’t thought about it until you just mentioned it. Could be his kid brother, but I think I’ve seen him somewhere before. Glad you enjoyed it.

August 2nd, 2011 | 12:46 AM

I enjoyed the first HP movie, but between part 2 and 3 my enthusiasm diminished. I think i ought to give it another change – your review is juicy enough to make me want more.

August 2nd, 2011 | 6:12 AM
Mitch Mitchell:

Mia, that second movie was fantastic; I wonder why your enthusiasm diminished then. Anyway, I think each movie had great merits and loved them all, but the only one I thought might be somewhat questionable at parts might have been the 5th. Still, if you see this last one it might jumpstart your enthusiasm enough to go back and check out the rest of them.

August 2nd, 2011 | 4:17 PM

I have never watched any of these Harry Potter movies. I thought they were for kids.

But i guess with all the magic is sorcery, its far from a kids movie. Maybe I will check out the first movie and see how it is.

August 2nd, 2011 | 8:13 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Kent, the first book was definitely for kids, possibly even the second one. After that, though, themes started getting darker and more intricate and by this last movie it’s definitely not a kids series anymore. If you want to start with a movie that’s definitely more “adult” start with the 4th movie; that is, if you don’t like kids movies at all. If you do like kids movies even a little bit, then yes, start with the first.

August 3rd, 2011 | 10:16 AM

OK, 2 things;
1. You got up to go to the loo in the middle of the movie? 😉
2. You went to see it the 2nd time because you missed the kiss?

Mitch, if you said you missed some action scene or something that was so more involved than a simple kiss I could have accepted it but you have me shaking my head in disbelief

Personally I would have waited until it came out on DVD. 😀

I’ve seen all the Harry Potter movies and I’ll be sure to see this one and I’ll make sure I go to the toilet before the movie starts

August 7th, 2011 | 10:25 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Sire, I’m diabetic; when I have to go to the bathroom, I have to go. And no, I didn’t go back for the kiss; I went back because I wanted to see it again. When I really enjoy movies I want to see them again and again and again. It’s rare that I’ll pay to see a movie a second time though, which should help to highlight just how much I enjoyed this one.

August 7th, 2011 | 10:34 PM

OK, I’ll let you off for going to the loo but not for the kiss as you did say, and I quote

And the kiss… yes, the kiss between Ron and Hermoine. Actually, this is why I had to go to the movie a second time because I missed it the first time


August 7th, 2011 | 10:59 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Yeah, I said it, but it’s not the only scene I missed, and I had to see this one in context. The second time I drank nothing; wasn’t taking any chances.

August 7th, 2011 | 11:05 PM

So, tell me Mitch, was the kiss worth it? Did it come about naturally or was it the clumsy uncomfortable sort or do I have to wait until I see the movie 😉

August 12th, 2011 | 8:22 PM
Mitch Mitchell:

Sire, it was one of those where it came in the moment after something dynamic; it worked well, although still not how it was in the book.

Man, I want to see this movie again! lol

August 12th, 2011 | 9:34 PM
Andy Clint:

I love harry and it is so sad when it has already ended…I haven’t watched it still…

August 9th, 2011 | 9:15 PM
Cynthia J:

Great review. This film seems to be getting a lot of critical acclaim. All of the reviews I’ve read have been tremendously positive. I can’t wait to see it.
Cynthia J recently posted…career organizingMy Profile

October 23rd, 2011 | 12:15 AM

Cynthia, I’ve seen it 3 times, and that’s paying for it; very rare for me.

October 24th, 2011 | 12:35 AM

Very good film, best in the series. I actually do consider it a separate film from Death Hallows, Part I – if only because this feels like a “cap” to the entire series (while Part I felt like an adventure in its own right, as much as Half-Blood Prince, anyway).
Adeline recently posted…Gold FX ReportMy Profile

October 25th, 2011 | 5:41 AM

Because I read the book, I knew it had to be this way, even if they changed significant things from the book. I’ve enjoyed watching the first part on HBOOD often these days.

October 25th, 2011 | 11:08 PM
Mary M:

honestly the movie (and the series) as a whole were amazing, but i wish they could have explained the resolution better in the end, if you guys only saw the movies, i suggest reading the books,much more details, plus you’ll understand the story better

November 17th, 2011 | 2:25 AM

Mary, I always advocate that people do both since the movies had to go in a different direction. I hoped for a bit more as well but when you look at how long the movie ran to begin with I fully understand.

November 18th, 2011 | 11:33 AM